APCUG Summer Tech Conference Sat. Aug 21

August 21, 2021
Register here    https://forms.gle/Q9g1FaccjpjwNKE46
Registration closes at 11:30 ET on August 20.

SESSION 1
9:00 am PT, 10:00 am MT, 11:00 am CT, 12:00 pm ET

TRACK 1

Introduction to Geocaching
John Krout, Presenter & Newsletter Contributor, Potomac Area Technology and Computer Society

Learn how geocaching has become a worldwide outdoor game, the first such game based on computers and the Web. See a few of the most interesting caches found by the presenter in 45 U.S. states. Learn how to get started in your own area and how to create an anonymous account on geocaching.com.

TRACK 2

Making Your Own Travel Maps with Google Maps
Chris and Jim Guld, Geeks on Tour

There are many mapping programs; Chris and Jim use Google Maps and this presentation will show you how easy it is to put a map together before you travel.


SESSION 2
10:00 am PT, 11:00 am MT, 12:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm ETTrack 1

Genealogy Road Trip: It’s All About the Prep Work
Sue Mueller, Genealogy SIG Organizer, Computer Users of Erie
How to research where your family members are buried and what you should know before you go. What you should take with you to record the information you find in cemeteries. Make your list and check it twice! Social Media (Facebook) is your friend–the benefits of personal contacts before you travel.

Track 2

Computers during the early U.S. space program
Mark Schulman, Member, Central Florida Computer Society, an author, speaker, web designer, software designer, and technology enthusiast

Did the spacecraft have computers? What were their goals? How did we accomplish the goals and land on the moon? Mark will answer these questions and more during his presentation.


SESSION 3
11:00 am PT, 12:00 pm MT, 1:00 pm CT, 2:00 pm ETTrack 1

Make your vacation photos look better with GIMP
Art Gresham, Editor, Under the Computer Hood User Group

Were you taking the picture and would like to be in the group photo? Easy to do with GIMP. Art will demo this and more during this presentation.

Track 2

The State of Electric Vehicles
Michael Young – Electric Vehicle Professional

Electric vehicles are one of the hottest technology sectors in the past few years. Companies like Tesla, Nio, and Rivian are leading the charge in this space. In addition to many of the traditional automotive manufactures are selling or soon will be selling electric vehicles. This presentation will provide a summary of the latest information about the technology of the various electric vehicles that are on the market and what will be coming along in the near future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply